Day one – firecrackers and contentment

2015-01-01 20.34.06

Happy Old Year, Happy New Year!

So the year started off pretty well: After hours of saying I’d stay indoors with my sleeping baby at midnight, I was convinced to take the baby monitor outside with me and watch the fireworks from up close despite being a bit of a coward when it comes to all the banging. About half an hour into the new year, I figured now was as good a time as any to start behaving like a grown-up.

I took a – pretty small – firecracker and lit it, throwing it away so fast it landed in a heap of snow and exploded with a pretty pathetic sound. The second one actually went off properly and I felt a ridiculous sense of pride at having done it.

Anyhow, the true first for me came later, as the celebration calmed down and I took some time to think of the past year and the one ahead. And that’s when it hit me: for the first time in my life, I was not madly awaiting the new year to start. I was so content with 2014 that I’ll be happy with things to stay the same in 2015. Last year brought me the most wonderful gift, the birth of my sweet little first born. I now have a fantastic little family and my only wish as the fireworks were fading out and my one glass of bubbly (third drink I’ve had in over a year!) was coming to an end was that things stay just as they have been. What an incredible feeling, leaving behind a year with no regrets and looking forward to the one ahead being just as fantastic. Thank you, C. and F., for making me feel that way.

2 thoughts on “Day one – firecrackers and contentment

Leave a Reply

