Day eight – my mind and I

I have to say, I’m still pretty shaken by yesterday’s news as well as by today’s about an entire town in Nigeria having been destroyed and hundreds if not thousands of people having been killed. I seriously wondered whether I could keep up a meaningless project like mine in a world as cruel as this. But the more I think about it, the more I realize that seizing the day, learning new things and being more aware is actually the right thing to do in view of recent events. Life is so fragile and this world is so cruel, we really have to try and make the most of our years on this planet.

Today’s “first” had been planned for a while. In fact, it’s one of the things that first got me thinking about doing this challenge: in December, I decided to sign up for a pilates class, which started today.

The instructor actually asked each of us whether this was our first time. I must be getting famous and she was trying to figure out whether I really was that Lena. Seriously though, I was glad she asked because she said that seeing as two of us were new to this, we’d start off slowly. Well, if today was slow I think I’m kind of dreading next week. I had good fun though.  It was great doing something for myself and against that stubborn post-baby belly. I think I may finally have found a type of sport I really enjoy and can realistically get into (otherwise, I love beach volleyball, for which I am lacking the beach and swimming, which is just always quite a hassle, what with the wet hair and the wet clothes to carry home and the teenagers playing catch in the lane one’s trying to swim in).

So I’ll definitely be going back next week. Maybe by the end of the course I’ll be able to muster focussing on my breathing and “pulling my belly button towards my heart” whilst circling my leg or forming a “V” with my bum up in the air. Come to think of it, I think that’s one of the reasons I enjoyed it so much: it made me switch off my ever-pondering mind and focus completely on what I was doing. Just what the doctor ordered!

I’ll spare you a photo of myself in my stretchy leggings and show you what yesterday’s “first” looked like instead (which we tried today, by the way, and I have to say, it was pretty yummy):

20150108_164913
20150108_172326

I’d love to leave you with a bit of a teaser about what I’m getting up to tomorrow now, but I have to admit I’m pretty clueless so far. Suggestions welcome!

2 thoughts on “Day eight – my mind and I

Leave a Reply

