Day 20 – multicultural bread

When I lived in England, I used to say that one of the things I missed the most about Germany was the bread. C. would look at me confused, saying that there was also bread in England, after all. However, it wasn’t long after we’d moved to Germany that he told me he now knew what I’d meant.

German bakeries are renowned for the wide range of bread (and cake, of course) they offer. There are obviously differences in the types of flour used, but then there’s also bread with all sorts of grains and nuts and potato bread, carrot bread or even bread with olives inside or edible flowers on top, to name but a few.

Unfortunately, however, despite our great bread-making tradition, proper bakeries are getting harder and harder to find. Many places are simply defrosting and finishing pre-baked produce made in small factories. And even of the ones that still bake their own bread, many buy ready-made dough from cheap providers abroad. Gone are the days of bakers being the only ones awake when everyone else was still fast asleep.

However, some of these places do still exist. Funnily enough, one of the few you can still find in Munich is actually ran by a Japanese couple who came to Germany in order to learn the art of making German bread and now serve a mixture of German and French goodies. I’d heard about how great this place was for years, but somehow never remembered when it was time to but bread. This challenge, however, has made me more conscious of these kinds of things, so last week I decided it was time to check them our – only to find they were already closed at six o’clock. Makes sense for a traditional place like this not to be open till all hours, of course.

Well, today was the day. The warm smell of fresh bread as I opened the door took me back to my childhood when walking past a bakery in the morning would instantly make my mouth water just by the gorgeous smell that came from inside. The presentation was also lovely, with lots of wood and pretty signs. Last, but not least, however, I got to eat an absolutely amazing éclair and some of the best chocolate tarte I’ve ever tried. I also bought a truly spectacular loaf of walnut and raisin bread which still tasted like fresh from the oven when I got home hours later. Just a slice of it with a hint of butter and you’re in food heaven. Obori will definitely be one of the places I regularly buy my bread from now on.

20150121_001129

One thought on “Day 20 – multicultural bread

Leave a Reply

