Day 21 – playing with fire

As you might have guessed from the fact that I made such a fuss about the firecrackers on New Year’s Eve, I’m a bit of a coward when it comes to fire and stuff like that. I don’t think being a coward is necessarily a bad thing,  as it protects people from doing stupid things. But there’s a line…

For years now, I’ve been watching people put candles out with their fingers, wishing I could do it myself. No wax blown all over the table, no smelly smoke. But it’s once again taken this challenge to pluck up the courage and actually try it.

The first attempt was a bit pathetic. I kept touching the middle part of the flame, which didn’t feel hot at all but which also meant the flame wasn’t going to die. When I finally moved my fingers a bit further down, however, I successfully put it out. Just to make sure I would dare to do this from now on, I lit the candle again and tried again. This time, I knew where to put my fingers and was immediately successful.

20150121_112534
So there you go, I’m a thirty-year-old mum who’s proud to have tackled something most people probably learn at the age of twelve. (Kids, always remember not to play with fire! There should always be an adult nearby if candles are lit or anything like that.) I know that today’s first hasn’t been the most exciting, but it’s still achieved the purpose of making me do something new. And anyway, if I’m going to keep this up for the rest of the year, I’m going to have to alter between bigger and smaller things…

I promise that I’ll be a bit more entertaining again tomorrow.

