Day 57 – my inner pigdog

Today’s “first” might seem a bit pathetic to you if you don’t know me, but those who do know me should appreciate it.

One of my biggest problems is that I am pretty lazy. Not at work or with anything that has to be done or means a lot to me, but with things like exercise, chores that can wait until tomorrow and the like. I don’t usually keep up a hobby because the sheer idea of having to do something regularly somehow discourages me.

So this is why I’m counting the following as a new thing: I had an appointment today which overran by a good fifteen minutes, making me late for pilates. But instead of using that as a welcome excuse for not going, I conquered my inner self (or overcame my inner pigdog, as we say in German) and went anyhow. Twenty minutes late meant forty minutes of exercise still – better than nothing, right?

I don’t know what’s going on with me lately. Just a few months ago, I would have been thrilled at having an excuse and not having to feel bad about missing a lesson. Now the first course is over and I never missed a single lesson. That’s never happened before! I like the new me. Is it being a mum and feeling more content than ever, I wonder?

Leave a Reply

