Day 59 – newsflash

Today, I took up one of the ideas for a “first” that C. had given me. I’m sure that’ll make him happy as I think I sometimes have too strong a mind of my own and aren’t too good at taking other people’s suggestions on board.

Well, C. had a simple yet challenging idea: reading a newspaper front to back, without skipping a single article. Saturday seemed the right day for this, so F. got quite some daddy time today as I settled down with the paper. It’s not a particularly big one, only forty pages. But the challenge wasn’t so much reading a lot (that I don’t mind) but reading things I’m not interested in.

I always read the political part, the local stories, some of the economic part and most of the cultural one. Oh, and the gossip, of course. The Saturday paper comes with a weekend supplement on family, health and travel tips, which I also enjoy.

What challenged me the most was the sports section. Six pages of football, ice hockey and skiing was enough for a year. The funny thing is that I also didn’t understand quite a lot of it as I simply lack the background knowledge. This made reading it even harder, I think. I had a similar experience with the reviews of classical concerts: while I enjoy listening to classical music, I have never been very good with the theory, so these articles seemed to be written in a language of which I only had basic knowledge.

I spent around three hours on the whole thing (hard to tell exactly, as life as a mummy isn’t renowned for consisting of long stretches of focussing on something without interruption). Finally, the last page! I read all the horoscopes (seven of which I could’ve said matched me in one way or another – just goes to show it’s all a farce) just to have mine tell me I might be quite busy and therefore shouldn’t let myself get distracted from what needs doing.

I even did all three puzzles. The only things I skipped were adverts and the TV listing (but I did read the write ups.of the recommended shows). Although some articles weren’t too interesting to me, I did enjoy the fact that I took.the took the time to read the paper in peace and quiet and didn’t allow myself to be rushed by anything. (Not least thanks to C., who kept F. distracted.)

20150228_200547

Leave a Reply

