Day 78 – an appetizing translation

As I said before, I’m ways glad to have an opportunity to use my brain a little during my maternity leave. So I instantly said yes when I was asked if I could help a hotel with translating their menu.

I’ve translated lots of menus off the cuff when we’ve taken guests from abroad out for dinner. However, I’d never actually sat down to properly translate one to make it sound just perfect. What a fun task!

The research was so different from my normal legal and technical texts.. I even called a fishmonger’s to find out what a specific term meant. That’s one of the reasons I love translating so much – we have to learn so many new things in order to do a good job.

The only problem with it was that I haven’t stopped craving the lovely things from that menu all day. Time for a cooking “first” soon!

Leave a Reply

