Day 100 – better late than never

You know how we tend to only sightsee when we’re away from home and end up knowing more about random places around the world than our own city?

Due to this phenomenon, I never really saw the sights of Manchester when I lived here. Therefore, today I went into Manchester Town Hall for the first time.

There was a wedding about to take place so I wasn’t able to go too far in, but I saw the beautiful entrance hall and stairwell (complete with a bride processing up it) and some busts of various famous men.

I also learned that in 1980, Manchester was the first ever city to be declared nuclear free (whatever that means). I’m ashamed to say that this probably really is more proper sightsee than I ever did when I lived here. For some reason, I saw more of the surrounding countryside and other parts of England then. I vow to do a proper guided tour the next time I’m here.

20150410_170135

20150410_170158

20150410_170403

20150410_170533

Leave a Reply

