Day 119 – an old memory

Sometimes, I suddenly remember something from my childhood. A smell, a certain moment or even a person I hadn’t thought about in a long time.

This time, it was a dish my mum used to cook that I was reminded of in the vegetables section of the supermarket: chicory with ham and cheese, baked in the oven.

So tonight I cooked it myself for the first time. Really quite easy to make, but yummy and a nice change from my usual range of recipes. Here’s how I made it:

You’ll need

2 pieces of chicory per person
2 slices of cooked ham per person
Grated gouda or other cheese
Cream
Olive oil
Garlic
Salt, pepper, chili

Boil the chicory (washed and with the bitter stem removed) in some salted water for about five minutes. In the meantime prepare a casserole dish with some olive oil, crushed garlic, a few tables spoons of cream and some finely chopped chili. Take out the chicory, add salt and pepper and leave it to cool for a bit. Then wrap it in the ham and place it in the casserole dish. Cover in as much grated cheese as you fancy. Bake in the preheated oven at 200 degrees Celsius for about 15 minutes or until the cheese is nice and brown. Serve with boiled potatoes or garlic bread.

20150429_202155

Leave a Reply

