Day 138 – a new side dish

It’s still asparagus season, so I picked up some green asparagus as a side dish for dinner tonight.

We had salmon fillet (my current favourite way of preparing it: wrapped tightly in tin foil, with just a little chilli, garlic and lemon juice, and then put in the oven for about thirty minutes at about 180 degrees) and I decided to be a little creative with the side dish as today’s “first”.

Instead of serving potatoes and asparagus separately, I made them into a tasty bake together. For that, I just boiled the peeled and sliced potatoes as well as pieces of asparagus until semi-soft. I then placed them in a casserole dish and poured over a mix of sour cream and eggs, seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic and nutmeg. A nice big heap of grated cheese on top and then off in the oven for the last twenty minutes along with the salmon. I used low-fat cheese, which created a nice and crunchy crust.

So I’ve discovered yet another yummy way of serving asparagus. I think I’ll give it a try with white asparagus some time, too, maybe even with some bits of cooked ham and as a complete meal then.

I realize this is once again turning into a bit of a cooking blog as of late. I promise there will be some non-food adventures again soon!

20150518_211430-1

Leave a Reply

