Day 161 – culinary upcycling

I spent the whole day wondering how I could reconcile my headache, the leftover ratatouille and the fact that we were having guests for dinner. I didn’t want to serve them leftovers but at the same time I didn’t really feel up to cooking a complicated meal. And ideally dinner would elegantly constitute my “first” for the day as well. When we went out to do the shopping, I still hadn’t solved that problem.
But standing at the till in the drugstore, just before heading to the supermarket, I had an epiphany: “I’m just going to turn the leftover ratatouille into a pasta sauce!” I shouted out, perhaps a bit too excitedly. And this is where it gets weird. The woman in front of me absolutely started grinning. At first I thought she hadn’t realized I was talking to C. and considered me completely crazy. But then she looked at me and said: “That’s what I’m making today too. It’s really yummy. And just so practical when there’s some leftovers anyway.”

What are the odds? I was absolutely dumbstruck and still can’t quite believe that really happened.

So I blended the ratatouille (which I make from only aubergines, zucchini and tomatoes, with some onions, garlic, rosemary, chili and red wine), added some capers and tuna and boiled it for a bit. What a yummy sauce that made! I’ll definitely be cooking too much ratatouille again next time – and then I think I’ll make a lasagne from the leftovers.

See, once again this challenge has inspired me to be adventurous and try something new. If it wasn’t for the challenge, I probably would just have served a pasta sauce I’d made a million times before, or even served the ratatouille after all. I’m so happy I’m doing this!

Leave a Reply

