Day 196 – stream of consciousness

I was reading The Sex Lives of Siamese Twins by Irvine Welsh a while ago and it talked about something I’d never heard of before: Morning Pages.
Today I decided to give that a try. It means writing down your thoughts as they enter your head. Three A4 pages worth of stream of consciousness. I’d actually written stream of consciousness once before, but not as as a deliberate method of clearing my head in the morning.

What made it interesting was the set frame of three pages – that gave the exercise a beginning and an end and thus defined the time I set aside for it. I will have to try it once again when I’m in complete peace and quiet – there was a bit too much going on to really let my mind wonder this morning. All in all, I’m not sure it can really be as life-changing as its advocates make out. But there’s no harm in it either, I suppose…

image

What I do really recommend is the aforementioned book, however. Irvine Welsh at his best!

Leave a Reply

