Day 252 – onion blobs

I tried to make onion rings for the first time today…
Deep-frying is not something I do a lot anyway (all that oil always seems pretty mad to me) and I’d never even thought of making onion rings until C. suggested it as a “first” a few days ago.

The onions I used were pretty small and I decided that I’d try a beer-free batter and a simple recipe that didn’t require covering the onions in flour before dipping them in the batter. Now I wish I’d gone all the way. The first batch was pretty much batterless, as the batter was too thin and just slipped right off. So I added more flour and the second batch ended up pretty drie.

As the onions were quite so small, the weren’t really any rings distinguishable, either. Nonetheless, not bad for a first attempt and definitely something I’ll add to my repertoire of side dishes…

image

image

Leave a Reply

