Day 256 – more good deeds

I’ve really been enjoying all the voluntary work over the last few weeks. I’m exhausted but happy, tired but content. And most importantly I’m glad that I’ve been able to help make life a little better for some of the poor souls arriving into Munich…
So yesterday I worked another shift at the station, handing out food and helping where we could. It was the first time I was allowed to wear the green vest of the supervisor’s assistant (a very important job, of course ;-)). I met some great and interesting people, had a (very brief) supervision session for the first time ever and, as always, just gained so many new impressions.

And, above all, it was the first time I was able to put a huge smile on a little girl’s face. I was showing here a few cuddly toys for her to pick one. Eventually, she saw one she loved and started beaming. Tears came to my eyes. The children always get to me the most. Here are we, fretting over whether we do enough for our kids and whether they should really eat sugar at one year old. And then there are these parents I see at the station or in the accommodation places: parents who have no change of clothes for their children and who are reliant on donations to even be able to give them one toy or a dummy…

How can all these right-wing idiots, who say it’s disgusting that refugees are being given so much, sleep at night? How can anybody possibly envy someone who’s had to leave everything behind because they are being given a clean pair of pants and a toothbrush?

Anyhow, I am so proud of Munich still. Today I heard an incredible figure: they are estimating that 17,000 people have made donations in Munich in the past few weeks. Isn’t that just wonderful?

Leave a Reply

